Skip to content

Blessed Laura Vicuña

22 gennaio 2013

laura-vicuna-12

“For me praying or working is the same thing; it is all the same to me whether I am praying or playing, praying or sleeping. By doing as I am told I am doing what God wants me to do, and that is what I too want to do; this is my best way of praying.”

“It seems to me that it is God himself who keeps alive in me the awareness of his divine Presence. Wherever I am, in class or in the playground, this knowledge is with me, and it helps me and strengthens me.” (Laura Vicuña)

Today is the commemoration of Blessed Laura Vicuña.

Who is Laura Vicuña?

Laura Vicuña was born in Santiago, Chile, on 5 April 1891, and was educated in line with the preventive system of St John Bosco at the “Mary Help of Christians” College in the Argentinean Andes. As a happy and joyful teenager she soon became a model of friendship with Jesus, of apostolic charity among her companions, and of fidelity to her daily duties.

In complete trust she endured with heroic fortitude physical and moral sufferings well beyond her age. Faithful to the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, she did not hesitate to offer herself as a victim to bring her mother back to the way of salvation. She died on 22 January 1904 at Junin de los Andes, Argentina, and was beatified by John Paul II on 3September 1988 at Castelnuovo Don Bosco, Asti, on the Hill of the youthful beatitudes.

She is one of the patrons of the World Youth Day 2013.

To read her story: Life of Laura Vicuña

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. 22 gennaio 2013 14:04

    May blessed Laura Vicuna help us feeling the caring presence of God next to us every single day.

Lascia un commento

